My First True Love(s)

25 Sep

From the time I was little I was in love with stories. Movies, plays, books anything that wasn’t kindergarten napping and hopscotch I was into. I desperately wanted something exciting to happen to me, something that happened to characters in books. I wanted to sprout wings, or find out I was a missing princess like Anastasia.

Naturally then, I had my favorite stories, and my favorite characters. I had particularly bad little girl crushes on Peter Pan and Dickon from The Secret Garden.

To This day I’m not sure what the appeal of these two were as compared to the princes of Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty. Maybe it was the fact that Peter Pan was utterly wild and incredulous, while the Princes of Disney had little else but their title.

Oh Golly! If you don’t find this adorable you’re on crack!

Peter Pan always held a special place in my heart. He was unruly and lets not forget musical (pan pipes). Not to mention an excellent leader (he could rally 12 boys under the age of 13 and that’s a tough job for anyone). Besides that he was an extraordinary fighter (beating up a  pirate 3 times his age and half his wit). And boy was he witty. Even at 7 years old I  couldn’t help but falling in love with people’s wit and Peter Pan’s was no exception.

Then there was the fact that he was utterly magically, and could freakin’ fly! If that wasn’t reason enough to want to marry him then i don’t know what is. So there is my explanation for being in love with Peter Pan. Makes sense.

Then there was Dickon. Oh Dickon, sweet, adorable, animal charmer Dickon! That should be enough to make any girl swoon right there. Let’s not even MENTION the fact that he has an accent (an adorable little scots-irishaccent)! Plus he’s all in love with animals and the wind in his hair and stuff like that and as a little suburbs

It’s like The Notebook for 10 year olds! 😀 *I’m squealing on the inside*

girl I wanted so badly to run out on the ‘Moore’ with him. Plus, he could tame a WILD PONY. Every little girl wants a pony and if a boy could tame a wild pony and give it to me I’m pretty dang sure I would marry him to this day. Nuff said.

Oh and on top of that he would Push Mary on the swing in the garden and that was just too cute! He was a perfect little gentleman, which is the complete opposite of Peter. Who in retrospect was a total player who flirted with Mermaids, and probably joked around with Wendy way too much. He will just never grow up. So immature (haha)!

What do my fictious love interests have to do with writing.

Well, just recently I realized that right there (those two characters) are excellent examples of how to make love interests interesting. They (even as children) had the makings of great men. And so I will now got pat myself on the back for discovering that I have great taste in fictitious boys. Their characters would be excellent models to form an MC or a secondary character with! Now, don’t you feel like you learned something?

Did anyone else have kiddie crushes?

Sorry this post is late… Microsoft is lame and windows live didn’t post it for me! UGH! Technology 😦

5 Responses to “My First True Love(s)”

  1. lilacandivy September 25, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

    I’ve always liked Spot Conlon from the movie “Newsies”. His swagger, his light blue eyes, his little smile, and he’s greatwith the slingshot. 😉 http://www.freewebs.com/brooklyndocks/spot-show%20me.jpg

  2. Kylie September 25, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Oh my goodness, the Newsies boys were so cute: Spot Conlan, Jack Kelly, and Mush. Boy, does he have abs. (Spot: Your honor, I object. Judge: On what grounds? Spot: On the grounds of BROOKLYN.” LOL.)

    But when I was little, I also adored Peter Pan. I still do, really. He’s wild and impetuous, with just enough vulnerability to make you love him. Have you read Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson? It’s a great book about Peter Pan.
    And I’ve also had a huge crush on Harry Potter (from the books, mind you) since I was like, five.

    • nkeda14 October 14, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

      I haven’t had a chance to read Tiger Lily, but now that you mention it I have heard about it. I’ll have to add it to my to read list!

  3. Justin Nuckols (@nuckolheads) September 26, 2012 at 5:06 am #

    Hey Ally, Great post.
    Although I’m not a fangirl, I do rave on a well written character. And well if there are any other gentlemen subscribed to you, I must say it is Drizzt Do’Urden by author R. A. Salvatore. He is a mans role-model and a woman’s fantasy in every aspect. not only that the author was extremely detailed on this character. Which in turn, helped me understand successful character development.

    I don’t know about you, but I fantasize on the characters I write they are so opposite of me, yet i find myself infatuated with them. Every chapter carries me to a their world. I feel their pain, sorrow, and joy.

    Thanks,
    Justin

    • nkeda14 October 14, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

      You’re very welcome, and thank you for commenting! And yes, my characters are a bit too real at times. It’s a bit scary as I sometimes find myself liking them better than some real people…haha!

Leave a comment