My Writing Secrets

2 Jan

Today I did a little venturing and shopping in Cincinnati and let me tell you it was a very good experience for me. It allowed me to remember some of my dirty little writing secrets, and also supplied me with a new idea for a story! Not that I will be pursuing that at the time since I am desperately trying to finish my current WIP. But, that’s not the point. Today I figured I’d share with you my top three dirty writing secrets and cheats. You can thank Cincinnati.

1.Go somewhere. I know what you’re thinking. Uh thanks Alex but this is all over the internet and I don’t do this because at the moment I have no cha-ching to be moving! This is where I stop you. I realized today after getting my sparkly new idea that you don’t have to go gallivanting around the globe to change the scenery and “go somewhere”. Try driving twenty minutes to the nearest city or just driving around the back country roads. I mean I know the Sunday drive is so twentieth century but it’s great for mind clearing. Don’t have a car? Take butt out of chair and go walking around the neighborhood. You’ll be surprised how much a little fresh air will spark up the muse.

2.Go to the Dollar store. Don’t look at me like that. You know what I am talking about here. The dollar store! It is a writer’s best friend! How? Simple, think about it. For one there are a plethora of cheap candy snacks for rewards. Second the CD’s. Yes I’m talking about the cheapy instrumental CD’s. You know the ones with names like Celtic Spirit, and Soothing Piano are great for writing sound tracks. I know we all love our lyric filled meaning derived songs for playlist, but when it gets hard to focus sometime you just need some instrumental. The best part is that you get a whole CD for just a dollar! I know that these look cheesy, I admit the covers a usually cringe worthy, but pick one up sometime you will be surprised.

3.Set goals. Okay, if any of you read my post on New Years Resolution you probably know that I am a big “Goals” “Take charge of your own destiny” type person. SO for me setting a writing goal Is super important and helps keep me focused I have two goals write at least 250 words a day ( you will notice my badge on the side bar! You can get your own goal and badge HERE) and finish my Manuscript this year. Long term and short term. Having small term goals allows you to feel like you did something everyday while long term help you get that race horse tunnel vision and focus.

I’d love to here what your writing secrets are and what your goal is for this year. So, leave those in the comments please: D. Keep on Writing

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

My second semester starts tomorrow so the post might be a little light this week, but I’ll try to get some stuff on here.

New Sites are being added to the blog roll.

A new Find Me link has been added at the top of the page ^ at poemofquotes.com check it out!

6 Responses to “My Writing Secrets”

  1. thewatersedgecarrie January 4, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    LOL i rEALLY enjoyed reading this:D lol looks like im going to go visit the store more often:D lol look foward to your next post:D

    • nkeda14 January 4, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      😀 the dollar store is a life saver 😀 I’m glad you liked it

  2. kayleighroberts January 4, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    As one aspiring YA writer to another, good luck with your manuscript. =) Are you dedicating the entire year to writing or does “finish my manuscript” include editing time?

    • nkeda14 January 4, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      I’m trying to finish the first draft right now but I am really hoping to attempt some editing before the year is out!:D

  3. Danniel January 7, 2011 at 2:51 am #

    I love the dollar store. It might be my second favorite place on Earth. I have no idea what my first favorite place is.

    I don’t have any writing secrets. But what I do when I can’t write is start on a blank sheet of paper and just write all the crap that’s floating through my head and more times than not after a while things start to come out that are kind of good and my brain starts working better and I can either expand on the good stuff or get back to what I wanted to write about and work on that easier because my mind is in a better place. It hard to do because sometimes it feels weird just writing things not knowing where it’s going and sometimes it doesn’t even make sense and is really jumbled, but it almost always works for me.

    • nkeda14 January 8, 2011 at 1:26 am #

      Yes I can see where you are coming from sometimes you just have to get the brain juice flowing! HEHE 😀

Leave a comment